This is the "Getting Started" page of the "HIST 221: Demographic History of N.C." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 221: Demographic History of N.C.  

The Changing Face of the South: A Demographic History of North Carolina (Alvis Dunn)
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.guilford.edu/HIST221 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Wikipedia and Friends

Lee Ann Ghajar, "Wikipedia: Credible Research Source or Not"
http://teachinghistory.org/digital-classroom/ask-a-digital-historian/23863

Reliability of Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reliability_of_Wikipedia

 

 

 

Alvis Dunn's Picks -- Recommended Web Sites

A Set of Very Good Internet Research Sites

http://www.history.ncdcr.gov/ North Carolina Office of Archives and History

http://www.historync.org/index.htm History of Business in North Carolina

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/voices/ Voices from the Days of Slavery:  Former Slaves Tell Their Stories

http://docsouth.unc.edu/csr/index.html/volumes Colonial and State Records of North Carolina

http://library5.library.cornell.edu/moa/ Cornell University Library “Making of Americas” Documentary Series

http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/ More “Making of America” Collection from the University of Michigan

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress

http://docsouth.unc.edu/index.html Documenting the American South Collection at the University of North Carolina

http://www.lib.unc.edu/blogs/ncm/ North Carolina Miscellany

http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/ref/nchistory/jan2005/jan05.html This Month in North Carolina History

http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/ The North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina

http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/ North Carolina Museum of History

http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/workshops/civilrights1/home.html Civil Rights in North Carolina

http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/nchh/index.html North Carolina Museum of History Timelines

http://www.archives.gov/education/index.html National Archives

 

Key dictionaries and encyclopedias

U.S. History

The Dictionary of American History, Reference Collection, Ref E174 .D52 2003 v1 

The Encyclopedia of Southern History, Reference Collection, Ref F207.7 .E52 1979 

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas, Reference Collection, Ref E185 .E54 2006 v1-6

Encyclopedia of racism in the United States, Reference Collection, Ref E184. A1 E773 2005 v1-3

Encyclopedia of American Education, Reference Collection, Ref LB17 .U54 2001 v1-3

 

Subject bibliographies

North Carolina History: An Annotated Bibliography, Reference Collection, Ref Z1319 .J66 1995

Includes 9000 entries dating from the first written description of North Carolina in 1524 through 1992.

North Carolina Bibliography (sample pdf)

Published annually in the North Carolina Historical Review, this bibliography is an exhaustive listing of North Carolina publications for the previous academic year.

More bibliographies...

To find bibliographies in your subject area, do a subject search in WorldCat for "your topic/geographic area", "History" and "Bibliography." For example:

Labor -- History -- Bibliography.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip